Fri, Feb 23, 2024

  Log in | My Profile | Subscribe   









Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
1313 N. Vine Street
Los Angeles, CA 90028
United States
310-247-3794 fax
[email protected]

Contact: Brian Grady, Program Assistant, Nicholl Fellowships
Description: Sponsored by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting is the most prestigious competition for amateur screenwriters in the world. In adition to offering up to five $35,000 fellowships each year, the Nicholl Fellowships serves to open industry doors by bringing an exceptional amount of professional attention to the winning writers.
Objective: The Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting were established in 1985 by a gift to the Academy Foundation from Mrs. Gee Nicholl to identify and encourage talented new screenwriters.
Eligibility: Writers in English who have not earned more than $25,000 (lifetime) writing for film or television
Entry Fee: $50 by Mar. 2; $65 by April 2; $90 by May 2
Type: Screenplay
Originates From: United States
Occurrence: Once
Sponsored By: Other
Start Date: 1/16/2023
Submission Deadlines: 5/2/2023
Winners Announced: October of each year
Year of Origin: 1986
Rules: Application forms are available in January of each year, most readily from the Academy's Website at Complete rules and a considerable amount of additional information about the Nicholl competition is also available.

Applicants must submit:

*A completed online application form.
*One copy of an original feature film screenplay uploaded as a PDF file. The feature screenplay should be in standard industry format (12 point Courier) and no shorter than 70 pages and no longer than 160 pages. Suggested page count is 80 to 125; scripts exceeding 125 pages may have their length counted against them.
*Submissions must have been written originally in English; translations will not be accepted. No multi-part scripts should be submitted unless each part can be read as a separate, stand-alone screenplay.
*Submissions must be the original work of the entrant(s) and may not be based, in whole or in part, on any other fiction or nonfiction material, published or unpublished, produced or unproduced. Entries may, however, be adapted from the entrant’s (or entrants’) original work, which should be noted in the log line required on the application form. Entries lacking a log line on the application form will be disqualified.
*If the script is based on a true story, historical or contemporary, the "based on true story/events" button should be selected within the online application form.
*Collaborative work by two writers who share equally in its creation is eligible. Collaborative work for which one writer developed the idea and another writer wrote the screenplay is not eligible. Collaborative work by three or more writers is not eligible. The collaborator’s name must be added during the online application process. Writing partners selected as fellows will divide the fellowship stipend equally.
*The entrant's name, address, phone number or any other identifying information should not appear on the title page or any other page of the script. Placing a Library of Congress or WGA registration number on the title page is acceptable but not required.
*A single entry fee per script entry paid online via credit card. Entry fees will not be returned or adjusted.
Prizes and Awards: Up to five $35,000 fellowships are awarded each year. The winning writers are invited to participate in Nicholl Fellowships Award Week activities, including seminars, special meals and an awards dinner. Out of town winners are provided travel costs and hotel accommodations.
More: Past winners have included writer-directors Allison Anders, Doug Atchison, Nicole Beckwith, Radha Bharadwaj, Raymond de Fellita, Jacob Estes, Kurt Kuenne and Karen Moncrieff and and writers Susannah Grant, Anthony Jaswinski, Ehren Kruger, Andrew Marlowe, Randall McCormick, Terri Miller, Annmarie Morais, Mike Rich and Rebecca Sonnenshine.

Contact information lists are distributed to agents, executives, managers and producers each year.




2024 Writers Guild Awards Nominations Announced


96th Academy Awards Nomimations Announced


2024 Emmy Winners Announced


2024 Golden Globe Winners Announced


2024 Golden Globe Nominees Announced


Sony Pictures and The Guardian Partner


Paramount TV No Longer Looking for U.S. Limited Series

  Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions of Service | Contact Us
An Industry Arts Company